Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Daisy Grant-Lukas

Grant-Lukas, Daisy

Administrative Secretary

adgrantlukas@seattleschools.org
Gretchen Gray

Gray, Gretchen

PE Specialist

ghgray@seattleschools.org

I was born and raised in Seattle.  I have five siblings, and my family all still lives in the area, too.  I grew up in Ballard.  I have been at John Hay since 2016, and I have enjoyed all the positive relationships I have built with students and staff over the years.  I love to see students living healthy, active, and joyful lives through physical activity.  When I am not at school, I enjoy spending time with my family, friends, going to baseball games, hiking, and being outside in the PNW as much as possible.

Hannah Hansen

Hansen, Hannah

3rd Grade Teacher

hkhansen@seattleschools.org

I am a Seattle transplant. I am from South Dakota and moved to Washington in 2012. I started my career at John Hay as a Special Education Instructional Assistant in 2013. The next school year I was teaching in the classroom. I currently teach 3rd grade and I love it. I recently graduated with a master's degree in Elementary Mathematics.

Hartness, Rebecca

Speech Therapist

rahartness@seattleschools.org
Erin Hayes

Hayes, Erin

Office Assistant/Attendance Specialist

emhayes@seattleschools.org

Personal Message  

Hewitt, Erin

Instructional Assistant - Special Education

emhewitt@seattleschools.org

Jones, Leilani

Occupational Therapist

lejones@seattleschools.org
Katie Kaiser

Kaiser, Katie

5th Grade Teacher

kjkaiser@seattleschools.org

I have been a teacher at John Hay since 2004. I currently teach 5th grade, which is the best! With a student-centered focus, high expectations for all, and work around developing the whole child, I work to ensure that every student is ready for success in middle school and beyond. I am committed to empowering my students to be advocates for themselves and others.

Kibrom, Bisrat

Lunch/Recess Supervision

bikibrom@seattleschools.org

Kuykendall, William

Custodial Engineer

wjkuykendall@seattleschools.org
George McNutt

McNutt, Georgina

Instructional Assistant - Special Education

gmmcnutt@seattleschools.org

This is my 16th year at John Hay. I have a 20 year old daughter who also went to John Hay for her elementary years. The joke in our house is she graduated, I did not. John Hay is my family. I love the sense of community and, of course, all the kiddos. I look forward to coming to work every single day. John Hay rocks.

Misa Nakamura

Nakamura, Misa

Teacher - Special Education - SM1 program

minakamura@seattleschools.org

Misa Nakamura has been one of the Special Education (Service Model 1) teachers at John Hay Elementary since 2004.  She received her Bachelor's degree and dual certification (Elementary Ed. and Special Ed.) from Western Washington University and has her M.Ed. from the University of Washington.  She has taught in New Zealand and Japan and is proud to call both Hawaii and Seattle home.  John Hay ROCKS!

Danielle Nielsen

Nielsen, Danielle

Instructional Assistant - Success Coach

danielsen@seattleschools.org

I provide social emotional and behavioral support to student in K-5. Using one-on-one sessions, small groups, lunch bunch, recess support, and classroom support, we tackle things such as conflict resolution, proper classroom behavior, anger management, friendship issues, and big emotions.    

Perkins, Nash

Psychologist

naperkins@seattleschools.org
Gini Powers

Powers, Gini

5th Grade Teacher

gkpowers@seattleschools.org

I love teaching 5th grade! Teaching the oldest kids in the school is the best! Going to overnight camp and teaching FLASH is my favorite thing about 5th grade! EDUCATION: I have a Masters in Human Development, and a BA in English literature. Go Dawgs! PERSONAL: I am mother of three kids. I love to travel, spend time with friends and family and I'm obsessed with gardening when my back is not hurting! TEACHING: I would consider myself as a warm demander. I have high expectations for my students and they reach them! Welcome to 5th grade in the Perfect Pink Paradise!

Laura Robinson

Robinson, Laura

Teacher - Special Education 3,4 5 Access

lirobinson@seattleschools.org

It is my passion to help students grow and learn academically, emotionally, and socially. I strive to create a positive learning environment where instruction is differentiated to ensure that all students make progress. This is my 20th year at John Hay and I am honored to be part of the Hay community. Outside of school, I enjoy reading, gardening, traveling, and spending time with my wonderful family. Let’s go Jaguars!!

Mr Rose in his classroom

Rose, Thomas

2nd Grade Teacher

trose@seattleschools.org

Mr. Rose is a 24 year veteran teacher with Seattle Public Schools. Please call him at 252-2085 or stop by Room 204 to find out more.

Rosenthal, Stephanie

Health Supervision

strosenthal@seattleschools.org
Michelle Rudell

Rudell, Michelle

Teacher- Reading Interventionist

mirudell@seattleschools.org

Over the past 25 years, I have had the amazing opportunity to work as a Classroom Teacher and Reading Specialist with wonderful families, students, and colleagues in Bellevue, Shoreline, and Seattle.  When I am not at school, I enjoy reading, running, traveling, and spending time with my two sons. I am so lucky and honored to be part of the John Hay community.  As a Reading Specialist, I am passionate about helping students master the foundations of reading in order to become confident readers.

Janet Schooler

Schooler, Janet

Librarian

jschooler@seattleschools.org

Education: B.A. in Library Science/Elem. Education from James Madison University. Master of Library Science and Information Services from the University of Washington.

Personal Message:

I have been a librarian in Seattle Schools for 38 years(!) and am so glad I get to share my love of books and reading with everyone at John Hay.  When not reading, I love spending time with my son and daughter (both Hay alumni), following the Mariners, and traveling.