Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
John Hay ~ Attendance

~ Attendance, John Hay

johnhay.attendance@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

Alba, Caelin

Instructional Assistant - Special Education

ccalba@seattleschools.org

Aminata Diop

Lunch/Recess Supervision

amdiop@seattleschools.org
Rachel Atwood

Atwood, Rachel

Kindergarten Teacher

rlatwood@seattleschools.org
Christine Beaury

Beaury, Christine

Kindergarten Teacher

cebeaury@seattleschools.org
Katie Brown

Brown, Katie

First Grade Teacher

klbrown@seattleschools.org

Biography I grew up and was educated in Logan, Utah. I graduated from Utah State University with an Bachelor of Sciences degree in elementary education in 1997. I moved back to Seattle, and taught at private schools in Issaquah and Bellevue for the first 3 years, then I entered the Seattle Schools at Graham Hill Elementary. I was layed off in 2003 and rehired the same year. I chose John Hay at that time and have been here ever since. I received a Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction in April of 2019. I love teaching! I have a wonderful, supportive husband and 2 little dogs. I love reading, visiting family in Utah and England, and spending time reading and gardening, and just being in the sun.

Carol Burton

Burton, Carol

Music Specialist Teacher

ccburton@seattleschools.org

I grew up in Edmonds and come from a family of educators. I have a diploma from Meadowdale High School, a Bachelors in Fine Arts Music from Cornish College, and a Masters in Education from Western Washington University. I was the Director of Choral Music at Garfield High School for 18 years. I am now very happy to be working at the elementary level. Music classes build community.  They help students express feelings they may not have words for.

Khanh Cao

Cao, Khanh

ELL Teacher

khcao@seattleschools.org

Chin, Kimberly

Nurse

krchin@seattleschools.org

Biography Hello Hay! I have been a Registered Nurse for twenty years with almost the entirely of my career being based in family planning and reproductive health. A few years ago I made the switch to school nursing and am loving this new adventure in health care. I grew up in a military family so I’ve been fortunate to have traveled the world from the beginning of my life. I think this early childhood “life on the go” has stuck with me, I’m an avid traveler and use any free time to travel the world with my partner Brian and our kids Kohen and Beckett. Aside from traveling, I love capturing images on my camera, backpacking, sailing, and I also run a non-profit arts organization with my partner. ,Personal Message  

Christie Chinaka

Chinaka, Christie

Kindergarten and 1st Grade Teacher

cechinaka@seattleschools.org

Biography I love teaching at John Hay!

Kimberly Crosser

Crosser, Kimberly

2nd Grade Teacher

kmcrosser@seattleschools.org

Welcome to second grade!  I’m Mrs. Crosser and I am so excited to be your child's teacher this year.  Second grade is a great year!  There are so many fun things to learn and do. This is my 16th year in teaching (15th year in second grade) and 11th year at John Hay.  John Hay is a fantastic school and I feel very lucky to be a part of this community.  Go Jaguars!

Christine Droker

Droker, Christine

First Grade Teacher

cbdroker@seattleschools.org
Justin Ellenson

Ellenson, Justin

Teacher - Special Education - Focus Program

jrellenson@seattleschools.org
Leyla Fiorito

Fiorito, Leyla

Instructional Assistant - Special Education

lafiorito@seattleschools.org

Geiger, Zoe

Physical Therapist

zrgeiger@seattleschools.org
Julia Gendrich

Gendrich, Julia

Instrumental Music Teacher

jmgendrich@seattleschools.org

Gmuca, Maria

Occupational Therapist

msgmuca@seattleschools.org
Daisy Grant-Lukas

Grant-Lukas, Daisy

Administrative Secretary

adgrantlukas@seattleschools.org
Gretchen Gray

Gray, Gretchen

PE Specialist

ghgray@seattleschools.org

I was born and raised in Seattle.  I have five siblings, and my family all still lives in the area, too.  I grew up in Ballard.  I have been at John Hay since 2016, and I have enjoyed all the positive relationships I have built with students and staff over the years.  I love to see students living healthy, active, and joyful lives through physical activity.  When I am not at school, I enjoy spending time with my family, friends, going to baseball games, hiking, and being outside in the PNW as much as possible.

Hannah Hansen

Hansen, Hannah

3rd Grade Teacher

hkhansen@seattleschools.org

I am a Seattle transplant. I am from South Dakota and moved to Washington in 2012. I started my career at John Hay as a Special Education Instructional Assistant in 2013. The next school year I was teaching in the classroom. I currently teach 3rd grade and I love it. I recently graduated with a master's degree in Elementary Mathematics.